The SUPER FOOD for Conception, pregnancy and over all health … SEAWEED

The SUPER FOOD for conception, pregnancy and over all health … SEAWEED

A few months ago I started having these intense cravings for seaweed (Not a food that I normally crave) I believe your body tells you what you need if you just stop and listen to it . So I looked up some recipes in some of my cookbooks, went to the market and got my self some seaweed then whipped up a few meals. The first was this awesome seaweed salad, which I totally inhaled; you would have thought it was my last meal I was ever going to eat. I then found and completely became addicted to these roasted seaweed snacks (I eat been 2-3 packs a day)  FYI ( great snack for your kids )Whenever I crave something I always look up the healing benefits and properties of the food. I was absolutely blown away by what I found!!!!  Not just for over all health but for pregnancy and conception as well.

FOR CONCEPTION, FERTILITY , PREGNANCY AND OVER ALL HEALTH

Seaweed is high in Iodine as well as Folic Acid. Both assist in the healthy development of the fetus and decrease the chances of birth defects. Iodine increases fertility and protects the fetus from defective genes.

Supports healthy thyroid function

Aids in brain development

Strengthens digestion and is helpful for constipation (something common in pregnancy)

Very high in Calcium – good for strong bones as well as to help with the leg cramps that sometimes come with pregnancy.

Very rich in minerals and trace minerals

Helps to alkaline your body (when trying to conceive if your are overly acidity sperm can’t live)

Helps detoxify your body from heavy metals (something that’s good to do before trying to conceive)

Has a high Magnesium content which is a natural anti – inflammatory and over all relaxant.

Improves your immune system

Protects against cancer

Improves metabolism

Helps regulate blood sugar and cholesterol levels

Great for your skin and hair

Helps reduce menopausal symptoms such as fatigue and hot flashes.

 

A FEW RECIPES

 

Cool cucumber seaweed soup By C.C Consalvo http://www.cleanplatemeals.com/

2 Cucumbers (large or English style work well)

1 and 1/2 cups of a good Greek yogurt.

(You can also use soy or unsweetened, coconut yogurt for this soup)

2 tablespoons of wakami seaweed.

1/4 cup of fresh water. Add more water to thin or less if you like a thicker consistency.

A few fresh dill or parsley sprigs.

Salt and pepper to taste.

First peel and seed the cucumber, then chop in small piece to toss into a blender or food processor.

Add the rest of your ingredients, blend then taste. Adjust salt and pepper to taste.

This refreshing soup is full of flavor and nutrients.

 

Seaweed Salad http://seaweed-salad-recipe.blogspot.com/2010/09/seaweed-salad-recipe-1.html

* dried arame seaweed

– 1/2 cup (soak seaweed in warm water to cover for 15 minutes

– rinse, drain and chop)

* red cabbage – 1 cup shredded

* carrots – 1 cup shredded

* fresh mushrooms – 1 cup diced

* fresh ginger – 1 tsp grated

* tamari or low sodium soy sauce – 2 tbsp

* toasted sesame oil – 1 tbsp

* sesame seeds for garnish

In a large bowl, combine all the salad recipe ingredients (reserving the sesame seeds for garnish)

and toss well to coat.

Allow the seaweed salad to marinate for at least an hour so the seaweed and the vegetables absorb the ginger, tamari and oil. This will give the salad a nice deep flavor

 

BROWN RICE AND NORI ROLLS by me ( Lori Bregman )
www.rootedforlife.com

A package of Nori sheets

Wasabi

Cooked short grain organic brown rice

Avocado

Cucumber

Raw or cooked Asparagus and sliced carrots

Soy sauce

Lay sheet of Nori flat, spread brown rice, add wasabi and vegetables and roll

Dip in soy sauce and wasabi

* you can add any organic  vegetables or protein you want to roll .

2 Responses to “The SUPER FOOD for Conception, pregnancy and over all health … SEAWEED”


  1. 1 Maeve Quinlan March 16, 2011 at 6:06 am

    OH MY GOD!! You have JUST changed my life when I am craving a snack. When I was craving something crispy and savory I’d always crave chips or even fries…as a naughty treat. Now I can snack not only guilt free but happily as I am shocked how amazing this is for me and I too am ADDICTED to the taste. Keep your recipes coming!!

  2. 2 Vicky September 26, 2011 at 5:03 am

    Hi. I am pregnant with my second child and during my first pregnancy I couldn’t get enough dried seaweed. I literally inhaled the stuff and went through about 10 packs a day. I usually like seaweed but I knew this was a little insane and wondered what eating so much seaweed would do to the baby. When I googled it, I found that not only is it a superfood and very beneficial to pregnant women, it also protects against birth defects caused by smoking or inhaling second hand smoke. My partner smokes and I was wondering if it was my bodies’ way of craving something that would minimize the effect of the second hand smoke. I’m 6 weeks into my second pregnancy now and the crazy seaweed cravings have started again. Ha ha.


Leave a Reply

Rooted For Life

March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 1,173,512 hits

RSS Rooted For Life Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

