multi tasking or present and focused – Something to ponder

Image

I was surfing the net the other day, saw this picture and thought ” HOLLY SHIT ( no pun intended 🙂 ) this is me ” !!!  I do this constantly as I multi task my way though life . Even right now as I am writing this I am eating , throwing a ball to my dog and listening to music for my playlist I need to make for class this week .

It feels like time has sped up and there aren’t enough hours in the day to get everything done . So we multi task by doing 3,4,5 things at once . ADD is on the rise , I can’t tell you how many adults I know that take the drug  Adderall so they can focus not to mention the all the children that are on Ritalin .

Yes when we multi task we might get more done ; however is the job we do as good as if we actually took the time to focus on the 1 task at hand ? When we do 5 things at once we are never really fully present or actually engaged in what we are doing . When you focus on 1 thing at a time there is no doubt you do a better job , so really in the end its about quality vs quantity . This makes me think of parenting . We all know how quickly children grow up . If we aren’t present we can often miss so much of their growth . Time is something you can never get back .

I am a huge believer of parenting by action . If you can take the time to be present  with yourself , your children, your partner , friends … and what you are doing you will teach them by being a living example of what being present and focused looks like.

Obviously nobody can be 100 percent present all the time , this is only something for you to think about ,a way for you to lead by example for your children to follow in and a way  to dive in and enjoy what you are doing more fully .It’s not how much time that you spend with your children that matter but how you choose to spend that time with them that does . What are you going to focus on today ?

WWW.rootedforlife.com

1 Response to “multi tasking or present and focused – Something to ponder”


  1. 1 Adam Sheck June 5, 2012 at 5:08 pm

    I think that women are more genetically predisposed to multitasking, as they seem brilliant at bathing one kid while preparing lunch while paying the bills while talking on the telephone to a friend. As a man, I’m a little bit of a disadvantage and can truly only focus on one thing at a time. I like it when a person puts ALL of their focus on me when we’re interacting, but that just might be my own limitation. I agree though, that we are modeling constantly for our kids.


Leave a Reply

Rooted For Life

June 2012
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 1,146,543 hits

RSS Rooted For Life Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

