Archive for May 21st, 2012

Acupuncture for fertility , pregnancy and postpartum .. Mirela Rohan … LOVE her !!!!

I have been getting weekly acupuncture treatments for over 3 years now and I can’t even begin to tell you how much it has changed my health , energy and over all being . I was seeing a bunch of different people for treatments that were all fabulous . I kept hearing about this woman Mirela who was having amazing results with people having fertility issues . I found out she is considered the ” navy seal of fertility acupunture “. Mirela  ( a secret find ) is who the Doctors turn to when they have tried everything . Needless to say I just had to meet her and experience what she does as I don’t like to refer my people anywhere unless I try it first . so I went , was blown away and fell in love !!! She has gotten my body balanced and working again like it was years ago !! What I also love about Mirela is that she works closely, one on one . She takes her time with you and is 100 percent invested in getting her clients healthy and balanced . She is who I refer all my people to who for fertility .I asked her a few questions about fertility , pregnancy , postpartum and why do acupuncture ? I am a huge fan ,fully support and believe in it .

Image

Tell me about your background and how you got into specializing in fertility/pregnancy acupuncture

I graduated from Emperor’s College in 1999 with a Masters in Oriental Medicine. Like most acupuncturists, I treat patients with a variety of health issues.  Over the years, the focus of my practice has flourished in the area of fertility and women’s health.  Personally, it has been the most gratifying experience helping my patients through their infertility and pregnancy.

How does acupuncture help with fertility?

There are two ways to answer this question: we can answer this question based on ancient medical theory, or from the Western point of view based on medical research.  According to ancient medical theory, we have meridians.  The flow of energy through meridians is the basis of our health.  Disruption of the flow can lead to illness, including infertility.  Specific acupuncture points can affect the flow of Qi in meridians.  The scientific explanation is completely different.  Studies have indicated two effects of acupuncture: central, on the hypothalamic pituitary-ovarian axis, and peripheral, on the uterine blood flow.  The research has indicated the effects of acupuncture on the central nervous system, particularly β-endorphins, or feel-good hormones.  The effects of acupuncture are mediated via neuropeptides, which influence gonadotropin secretion through their action of GNRH.  The logical conclusion would be that acupuncture may affect the menstrual cycle through neuropeptides.

Acupuncture:

  • Improves ovarian function to produce better quality eggs
  • Regulates hormones to produce a greater number of follicles
  • Increases blood flow to the uterus, and increases thickness of the uterine lining
  • Relaxes the patient and decreases stress level
  • Improves success rate of IVF

How do Chinese herbs work and help with fertility?

Traditional Chinese medicine treats infertility on the basis of differential diagnosis to resolve underlying patterns of disharmony.  There is either a “deficit” or “excess” condition.  Based on this diagnosis pattern, custom herbal formulas are created to remedy the condition.  In addition, Chinese herbs decrease undesired side effects from invasive procedures and drug therapy.

Is there anyone that is trying to get pregnant that acupuncture won’t help?

There is a certain percentage of couples that will not be able to conceive despite all combinations of Chinese remedies and Western medicine.

Can you take herbs while undergoing IVF treatments?

In most cases, a combination of acupuncture and herbs will enhance results of IVF treatments.

How long does it take to get your body balanced and ready for pregnancy?

In most cases three months, though in some cases it can take 6-12 months.  Consistency is crucial to balance all of your phases of the menstrual cycle.

How often?

One to two times per week.  If preparing for IUI and IVF, twice a week before ovulation.

Overall during pregnancy how can acupuncture help?

1st and 2nd trimester

Acupuncture treatments can be helpful throughout pregnancy.  Acupuncture can calm morning sickness, treat insomnia, edema, low back pain, sciatica, frequent colds, sinus congestion, etc.  Often acupuncture is used in cases of threatened miscarriage.  Traditionally, acupuncture is used to strengthen the constitution of the mother to be, and aid in smoother pregnancy.

3rd trimester

During the third trimester, acupuncture prepares the body for labor and delivery.  In case of breech presentation, specific treatments are given week 32-36.  After week 39, treatments for labor induction can be given.  During the third trimester, weekly treatments are recommended to promote shorter and less complicated delivery.

After birth during postpartum, how can acupuncture help with this transition?

Traditional Chinese medicine considers post partum a pivotal time in women’s health.  The process of delivery and childbirth can often create deficiency.  Often Chinese herbs and/or acupuncture are used to address the issue.

Conditions that acupuncture can help in the post partum phase:

– post partum depression and anxiety

– post partum fatigue

– insufficient lactation or excessive milk production

– mastitis

– constipation

– hemorrhoids

– joint pain

– back pain

Contact info :

Mirelarohan@yahoo.com 

Office : (310) 276-0027 

PLEASE LET ME GROW AS I BE ….. (QUOTE )

Please let me grow as I be, 
And try to understand why I want to grow like me, 
Not like my mother wants to me to be,
Not like my father hopes I’ll be,
Or like my teacher thinks I should be,
Please understand and help me grow
Just like ME! 
– Magda GerberImage


Rooted For Life

May 2012
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 1,465,305 hits

RSS Rooted For Life Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.